Skip to main content

Home Forums COVID-19 Remote Teaching Forum Planning for Remote Summer School

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    bnschtn
    Participant

Hi,

I’m a graduate student instructor running my own class for the first time in SS1. I’ve attended the Remote Learning for Summer School workshop, which was very helpful. I also plan to attend the Graduate School’s course development workshop on 4/30.

Per the recommendation of the Remote Learning webinar, I’m designing an asynchronous course based on a pre-existing syllabus. I have a few follow up questions about best practices, which generally boil down to: How much is the move to remote learning supposed to resemble a typical face-to-face course?

-A colleague in another department taught an online summer school course last year. Can I model my course structure on this course (i.e. no synchronous meetings; some firm deadlines, but largely self-paced)?

-How do I calculate course hours (or adequately fulfill them) for remote instruction? Do I estimate how long it would take students to do course related work (e.g. watch lecture videos, read, write)?

-If students aren’t physically coming to class or a synchronous Zoom meeting everyday, what is an acceptable workload? Do I schedule everything as I would a normal face-to-face course that met every day or keep in mind that many choose to do the work in chunks/units/lessons?

Thanks for any tips or guidance!
    Claire

Rob Lucas
    Keymaster

Hi Claire,

I’ve answered a couple of your questions below. I’ll need to look into the question about calculating course hours and get back to you.

-A colleague in another department taught an online summer school course last year. Can I model my course structure on this course (i.e. no synchronous meetings; some firm deadlines, but largely self-paced)?