Skip to main content

Home Forums COVID-19 Remote Teaching Forum Creating Lecture Videos

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Tyler Ritter
    Keymaster

A new resource is available with tips and tricks for creating your own lecture video recordings. Find the page here and post any questions on this topic in this forum thread.

Misha Becker
    Participant

I have a question about how to actually record the video. My lecture slides are PDF files (not Powerpoint). Would it be easier (for me and for the students) if I were to record a solo Zoom session with me talking through my slides and post the link to the course Sakai site? Or to use Voicethread (which I’ve never used before)? I’m planning to deliver all of my remaining lectures live during the regular class meeting time (and record them for those who can’t log in), but there are a couple topics we won’t have time to cover and I was going to make videos for those topics.
    Thanks,
    Misha

Paul Wolff
    Participant

Misha – I think that’s a fantastic approach. You can record using Zoom even if you’r the only person in the meeting and you can share your screen as you go through the materials. As I noted in the broadband thread, you will get an auto-transcription file if you record to the cloud and you can amend this to send out as accompanying lecture notes. I’d recommend using Zoom and Sakai if you can to keep things simple for you and your students. Voicethread is a fantastic tool, particularly in certain situations, but it’s one more thing for you to learn right now so I’d avoid it unless there’s a strong need (for example, in foreign language courses).

Paul Wolff
    Participant
    Rebecca Stephens
    Participant