Securing Zoom Cloud Recordings
To support greater class access to course materials, we recommend that you record your Zoom class sessions and share links to recordings via Sakai or preferred communications tool. However, there is a small risk that students could share these recording links with someone outside of the class. To help mitigate this risk, consider reminding your students to not share recording links and adjusting these Zoom recording settings to conserve student privacy:
- Record active speaker with shared screen. Yes. Students who have their video on during the session would appear on screen only if they are unmuted.
- Record gallery view with shared screen. No. At least some students who have video on during the session will appear on screen, regardless of whether they are speaking.
- Record active speaker, gallery view and shared screen separately. No, unless you plan to delete the gallery view recording. (Note: this option uses more cloud storage.)
- Save chat messages from the meeting/webinar. No. Enabling this option allows viewers to see participants’ names. With this option disabled, Zoom will automatically download a .txt file of the chat transcript to your local computer’s Documents/Zoom folder. Note that this transcript also includes participants’ names.
- Display participants’ names in the recording. No.
- Only authenticated users [i.e., UNC Zoom users] can access the recording: Yes.
- Recording consent. No. Students who do not consent will not be allowed to participate in the meeting.